HISTORY OF THE COLDWATER ROTARY CLUB COLDWATER, MICHIGAN BY ERNEST LUSE

The history of the Coldwater Rotary Club covers a period of 58 years. Many changes have occurred during this period of time, but one fact remainsthe four avenues of service have been the same, or improved upon.

The organizational meeting of the Coldwater Rotary Club was held on November 18, 1921, at St. Mark's Parish House, with a large attendance of visiting Rotarians. The Coldwater Club was sponsored by the Hillsdale Club.

Charter members were; (22)

George M. Branch C. O'Neill Carroll

Hugh W. Clarke

Charles R. Osborn Hugh W. Clarke Fred E. Chambers Roy J. Shattuck Oliver J. Deabler
Edward C. Freeland
Albert J. Fisk
Clarence C. Jones

Roy G. Shattuck
Dr. Samuel Schultz
Herbert L. Sloman
Roswell B. Strong
Frank W. Treat Ira F. King John E. Thompson Harry D. Lansing Robert A. Kerr

Edward G. Legg Charles R. Osborn midso guos Bert R. Warner Frank Rowe

On January 5, 1922 the charter was presented to the Coldwater Club. George Barnes was District Governor, charter #1044 and located in the 9th district.

The original officers of the club: President--Frank Rowe and swided blaze ad downed by Jest on habituth wineway at Vice President--0'Neill Carroll Secretary--Hugh Clarke were send by and and answers of decipions duty set Treasurer--Rollo Thompson Sargeant at Arms--Frank Treat Directors--Herbert Sloman--Harry Lansing and Fred Chambers.

The records indicate that the Secretary prepared a summary of each weekly meeting. Warner Van Aken joined the club February 17, 1922. At the date of his death he had perfect attendance for a period of 59 years. There have been five secretaries to date-Hugh Clark-Chick Kennedy-George Pierce, Ernest Luse and Robert Rumsey.

Glen Cowell joined the club January 24, 1922 and is the only member from the Coldwater Rotary Club to be District Governor.

The following dates cover specific events:

February 3, 1925-Rotary Club Minstrel presented to children at State School

May 14, 1929-Ninety nine present for Ladies' Night.

1931 Club studing unemployment situation in Coldwater, conditions bad.

April 26, 1932-Gordon Schlubatis in charge and talked on the work

of the 4H Clubs. Several farm friends were guests.

October 15, 1935-Meeting was dedicated to that game bird of game birds, The Ring Necked Pheasant.

December 1, 1936-First action in minutes that Rotary show be held.

February 9, 1937-Profit from Rotary show \$400.00 to \$450.00 for the benefit of High School Band Uniform Fund.

May 3, 1937-Charter night for newly organized Quincy Rotary Club.
1945-Beginning of Tri-State Rally at Potawatomie Inc.
Angola, Montpelier and Coldwater

The records indicate that the best known community projects cover

Rotary Show
Tibbits Theatre
Rotary Park
Various projects-Coldwater High School

Outstanding activities in service to Youth:

United Nations Assembly at Hillsdale
Wolverine Boys State
Camp Emery
Exchange students
Crippled Children Fund
Conservation Courses-3 in 1967
Boy Scout cabin

Our most effective International service projects consisted of assisting 2 boys from Mexico coming to U. S. for year of education and assisting in completing school house in Mexico.

The membership of the Coldwater Rotary Club as of October 1, 1979 is ninety nine, which is the highest in the history of the club. The age bracket is evenly divided so that it cannot be said that we have an "Old Men's Club"

The club throughout the years has had three regular meeting places: St. Mark's Church, Arlington Hotel and BPOE.

It is the hope of the present members that the Club will continue to increase and be of more assistance to the community.

Glen Cowell joined the club January 24, 1922 and is the only member from

COLDWATER ROTARY CLUB

Club Presidents

1936-37 1937-38 1938-39 1939-40 1940-41 1941-42	W. Glenn Cowell Charles F. Ramsey Herbert F. Lee Robert L. Wade Wm. H. Frankhauser John N. Hardy Robert E. Sharer Frank C. Mooney Harry L. Taylor shed Mooney's Term) Roy D. Putnam Harold J. McKnight Herbert G. Hurrell Norman G. Kohl Carl F. Vinton Frank K. Evans	1954-55 1955-56 1956-57 1957-58 1958-59 1959-60 1960-61 1961-62 1962-63 1963-64 1964-65 1965-66 1966-67 1967-68 1968-69 1969-70 1970-71 1971-72 1972-73 1973-74 1974-75 1975-76	Ernest W. Luse Torg Skabo Fritz Van Aken Lester Wise Richard Biringer Harvey Bent Donald Harris Duke Davidson John Dean Clyde Williams Axner Olson Fred Culy Fred Anderson Robert Nagle Doug Woodward Godfrey Collins Robert Rumsey Richard Moore John Klein Santford Jolley Paul Thompson James Lyon Hal Sexton Charles Geisbert
1940-41			James Lyon Hal Sexton Charles Geishert Richard Uhl
1944-45 1945-46 1946-47 1947-48	Wayne R. Johnson George E. Kershaw Howard M. Teeter Tom Shaw	1979-80	David Rubley
1948-49 1949-50 1950-51 1951-52 1952-53 1953-54	Webster Treat Kenneth Putnam Mark S. Andrews Robert Shaw Charles Woodward Edward C. Holtz		
-/// /4			